Making the Most of Your Twitter Profile

It takes me a split second to decide if I’m going to follow someone on Twitter.  I have a new follower’s column on my Tweetdeck and I give it a quick scan daily to find new interesting people to follow.  However, there are few things that put me off.

As a business you only have 160 characters to introduce yourself and it’s really important that you get this right.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading about what makes a good twitter profile and to be honest I disagree with a lot of what has been written.

I firmly believe that if businesses are going to make the most of social media they first and foremost have to connect with real people on Twitter and people want to know the individuals behind the business.

A Few Do’s and Don’ts:

Blank Profile:

Whatever you do write something, anything!  Why would anyone follow you if they don’t know anything about you?

Avatar:

As a rule of thumb, I never follow people without a picture.  The Egg is a major no no.  This is a difficult one for businesses as many are tempted to use their company brand/logo.  However, as an individual using Twitter I would much rather see the faces behind the company.  One solution to this would be to create a custom background for Twitter.  You will see that Chris Brogan is serious about Social Media but his avatar shows us he has a cheeky side.

Bio:

  • Don’t use famous quotes.  I can’t think of a better way to say this, but it’s cheesy.
  • Avoid the word entrepreneur, expert or guru; this immediately puts my shackles up.  It makes you sound pompous and out to make money.
  • Tell me a bit about yourself; put a human element behind your company.  What are you into outside of work (sport, leisure, travel)?
  • If it comes naturally to you, be funny.

Link:

Do include a link to your company website.  It’s a subtle way of introducing your business.

I think @scottmonty, from Ford, has got it right.

There is no hiding that he works for Ford but you do get a sense of the person that is behind the profile, he’s a husband, father and you get a sense he’s a nice guy.

Do you have any other tips for writing a good Twitter Profile?  Do you have any other good examples of Twitter Profiles?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

