Is your Facebook Fanpage Engaging?

I must admit that my Fanpage was rather boring, like most people I set it up and then pretty much forgot about it. Facebook has 350 million users, 50% of these users log on daily and spend at least an hour on it, so I was missing out on an excellent opportunity to build my community/network.

So, I’ve been making a concerted effort to make it more engaging.  Here are a few of the things I’ve done:

Welcome Page

You really don’t want new visitors landing on your wall the first time they visit so I have added a Welcome Page telling them a little bit more about myself and why they should ‘Like it’ so hopefully they will join my little community.  Here are 25 Brilliant Examples of Facebook Brand Pages.

Automating Blog Updates

I also have my blog posts automatically posted to the blog using RSS Graffiti a pretty nifty little tool.

Selective Tweets

I’m not really a Facebook person and I tend to spend more time on Twitter so I’ve also added Selective Tweets to my Fan Page so I can post to it via Twitter simply by putting the #fb hashtag at the end of any tweets.  This should be used sparingly though; Facebook users aren’t as tolerant of overzealous tweeting.

Location Based Social Networks

I’ve also been playing with location apps, namely Foursquare, personally I wasn’t a huge fan of Foursquare and the continual stream of Mayoral and unlocking badge Tweets was grating.  However, I’ve now been persuaded that it’s a valuable tool for business and it also allows me to add a personal dimension to my business.  Here are a few examples of businesses using it creatively.

Do you have an engaging Fanpage?  If so, what have you done?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

